Graphics and design

Posted: December 9, 2010 in Uncategorized


GRAPHICS AND DESIGN

We had a tutorial on graphics and how they are integral to marketing in industry. Think of Pepsi for example. You know exactly what it will look like, even before you look at the image below:

This is an indication of good graphic design, an image that sticks in your mind. For marketing purposes, this proves a valuable asset to any company. Suprisingly enough, Coca cola’s logo, (we learned) is very very poor in terms of graphic design, due to the fact that the typograpy is not easily read, however, because it is such a well known brand, if it were to be changed in any way, it may not be as recognizable to consumers, and therefore, the likelihood of it ever bein changed is very low.

Based upon the creation of graphics, we were asked to create a microwave. It had to be red. That was all we had to go on, and bearing in mind that I was lacking a red pen, I improvised a little:

I did not just draw this off the top of my head however, I did use reference from the web, purely by typing ‘red microwave’ into google!

As you will see, although crudely drawn, there is something that resembles a microwave, with an arrow saying ‘red’ pointing towards it. Thus, my red microwave concept was created.

Our next lecture was about character design. In particular, the morphing of an animal to a human. Considering the fact that I was in the process of creating ‘wolf people’ this proved extremely valuable, because it allowed me to find a nice balance between human features and animalistic features for my own characters.

We were given a template that looked like this:

 

and we were asked to transform it into an animal. Now, even though I was in the process of making wolf people, I thought I’d branch out a little in my artistic capabilities, so I decided on a bush baby. (They’re pretty funny-looking too, so I thought it might be a giggle)

Here is my completed character morph:

Sorry about the poor quality, I had to use the webcam 🙂

The easy part was drawing the final stage of morphing from reference from the web, however, I struggled when trying to work out the inbetween stage, possibly because it doesn’t exist in real life! But hopefully I did a good job!

Vehicle Design

Because our subject area lay within sci fi or fantasy, we had a tutorial on vehicle design. We had to stick to a very specific brief, (something that would be integral in industry to do)

THE BRIEF

You will design a futuristic scout ship which should be small
and fast. It might be used, for example, to explore and map
planets.
There will be certain limitations to your design, and you
should use appropriate reference to ground your finished
concept in reality as much as possible:
:Your design should be should be not much larger than a
modern helicopter or small executive jet plane.
:Your design must incorporate two engines and at least one
door.
:Your design must be streamlined, for use in both space and in
a planetary atmosphere. Wings are optional but shouldn’t be
too large.
:This won’t be a military ship, so no guns or heavy armour
plating although it should look used and weathered with
evidence of wear and tear.

The parts in bold were the key indications I noted down. I knew that these parameters should be kept to. So with this brief in mind, I started to look for reference. I immediately thought of Battlestar Galactica, so I googled it and this is what seemed helpful for reference. I also found other spacecraft that gave me some indication of what I should include in my sketches.

I like the use of different viewpoints here on the image above, on thing that was needed on the template

The reason why this image was used as reference was because of the retro futuristic look of the plane.

Wing layout and streamlined approach to the aircraft.


These two images above I liked because they are conceptual. As far as I’m aware these models are not actually bulit in real life, however, these were brilliant reference points because they allowed me to see the potential at which I could push my concept.

I particularly like the hexagon-like air holes on this last image, along with the multiple wings. As it seemed to be in-line with our brief, I used this bottom image as reference mainly, along with the top battlestar galactica image. The B G image was helpful because it gave indication of how the spacecraft should be shown on different angles.

Another use of reference was from my own research I had done previously to the session.

concept creation

The first two pages of this were extremely helpful because they gave me instruction-like methods of what to include. Here is my small, yet finished picture of my space craft concept.

Next, we had character design, a very important lecture for myself, especially because in my concept, the design of my characters will distinguish between the good character, and the evil character.

we had to use reference from the web, to create a character dressed in a certain way. I chose medieval, and used these images to gain inspiration for my finished characters.

These images seemed the most appropriate, given the short brief of ‘medieval’ Here is my finished design.

I put a lot of focus into detail, to allow the viewer to distinguish the fact that the ‘maiden’ on the left has been in some form of distress, and that the knight has shiny armour, along with hunting skills which has allowed him to hunt rabbits, (whilst on his quest for the damsel)… and turn them into a cloak.

Speaking of character design, heres some updates from my sketchbook.

The final image, I composed in photoshop, using a graphics tablet, and custom brushes. I put a lot of attention into the facial detail, and emotion of the wolfman. I also added mud splatters for a bit of fun.

ENVIRONMENT

Ok, Environment. I have a couple of sketches in my sketchbook, that I put into Photoshop for some rendering and inking. The good news is that some of them, (because I drafted them up like a widescreen storyboard) are ideal for a banner for a webpage. Youll see that in my Authoring post.

Some sketches of buildings.

 

Although blocky, I think these have certain potential to become banners for a webpage, and, if not, the still give good insight as to what the environment will look like.

 

Leave a Reply

